In detail

Computed tomography (CT)


Definition, function and process

The Computed tomography (CT) is one of the imaging techniques of radiology. X-rays are used to make cross-sectional images or tomograms of the human body. The method is suitable i.a. for the representation of skull, brain, lung, digestive tract, all types of tissue, bones and blood vessels. The representation is purely structural, therefore, no physical functions are represented, such as the fMRI. Although the examination is completely painless, it proves to be disadvantageous the released X-ray radiation, which depending on the X-rayed body region can amount to more than five times the annual radiation exposure.
How does a computer tomograph work?
X-rays penetrate the body and are absorbed differently depending on the density of the human tissue or the bones. The more radiation is absorbed, the whiter the region appears on the CT image. Conversely, this means that particularly permeable regions, e.g. spaces filled with air, such as lungs or abdomen, appear black because they barely absorb X-rays. As a result, a black and white contrast image is created.
In contrast to conventional x-rays, computer tomography rotates an x-ray tube around the patient, allowing layered images to be taken. In the normal X-ray examination, the radiation takes place only from one source. In the final step, the computer assembles the captured images. Both two-dimensional (2-D) and 3-dimensional (3-D) images are now possible.
Procedure of a CT examination:
Lying on a mobile plate, the patient is automatically pushed into the CT scanner. CT tubes are relatively short, with a width of less than half a meter. Therefore, the examination is also suitable for patients with claustrophobia. Depending on the organ to be examined, computed tomography can be performed with and without contrast medium. Contrast agents improve the contrast of the image especially for air-rich body regions (lungs or intestines). The iodine-containing contrast agent for the intestine is usually drunk; For other organs, the doctor administers the contrast agent intravenously. The entire examination only takes between 5 and 15 minutes.
Cost of Computed Tomography (CT):
Depending on the area of ​​the body to be x-rayed, a CT costs between € 200 and € 700.

En détail

Tomodensitométrie (TDM)


Définition, fonction et processus

la Tomodensitométrie (TDM) est l'une des techniques d'imagerie de la radiologie. Les rayons X sont utilisés pour réaliser des images transversales ou des tomogrammes du corps humain. La méthode convient, entre autres. pour la représentation du crâne, du cerveau, des poumons, du tube digestif, de tous les types de tissus, des os et des vaisseaux sanguins. La représentation est purement structurelle, par conséquent, aucune fonction physique n'est représentée, comme l'IRMf. Bien que l'examen soit totalement indolore, il s'avère désavantageux le rayonnement X libéré, qui, selon la région du corps radiographiée, peut représenter plus de cinq fois l'exposition annuelle au rayonnement.
Comment fonctionne un tomographe par ordinateur?
Les rayons X pénètrent dans le corps et sont absorbés différemment selon la densité du tissu humain ou des os. Plus le rayonnement est absorbé, plus la région apparaît sur l'image CT. Inversement, cela signifie que des régions particulièrement perméables, par ex. les espaces remplis d'air, comme les poumons ou l'abdomen, apparaissent noirs car ils absorbent à peine les rayons X. En conséquence, une image de contraste noir et blanc est créée.
Contrairement aux rayons X conventionnels, la tomographie par ordinateur fait pivoter un tube à rayons X autour du patient, ce qui permet de prendre des images en couches. Lors d'un examen radiologique normal, le rayonnement ne provient que d'une seule source. Dans la dernière étape, l'ordinateur assemble les images capturées. Les images bidimensionnelles (2-D) et tridimensionnelles (3-D) sont désormais possibles.
Procédure d'examen CT:
Allongé sur une plaque mobile, le patient est automatiquement poussé dans le scanner. Les tubes CT sont relativement courts, avec une largeur inférieure à un demi-mètre. Par conséquent, l'examen convient également aux patients atteints de claustrophobie. Selon l'organe à examiner, la tomodensitométrie peut être réalisée avec et sans produit de contraste. Les agents de contraste améliorent le contraste de l'image, en particulier pour les régions corporelles riches en air (poumons ou intestins). L'agent de contraste contenant de l'iode pour l'intestin est généralement bu; Pour les autres organes, le médecin administre l'agent de contraste par voie intraveineuse. L'examen complet ne prend que 5 à 15 minutes.
Coût de la tomodensitométrie (TDM):
Selon la zone du corps à radiographier, un scanner coûte entre 200 € et 700 €.