Information

Cinnabarit


Characteristics:

Surname: Cinnabarit
other names: Mercury Blend, Mercury Blend, Cinnabar
mineral class: Sulfides
chemical formula: HgS
Chemical elements: Mercury, sulfur
Similar minerals: Cuprit, Proustite, Ruby Sulfur
colour: vermilion
shine: Diamond shine possible
crystal structure: trigonal
mass density: 8,2
magnetism: Diamagnetism
Mohs hardness: 2,5
stroke color: red
transparency: translucent to opaque
use: industrial

General information about Cinnabarit:

Of the Cinnabarit or vermilion describes a common mineral that is counted among the sulfides and sulfosalts. Its name derives from the Latin word "cinnabaris" or the Greek "kinnabari". Both terms developed from the Persian word "zinifrah," meaning "dragon's blood." The Persian name of the mineral refers to its distinctive color. In the German-speaking area, the names Bergzinnober, Merkurblende and Mercury Blende are common.
Cinnabarit usually appears in an intensely bright red, but can also be brownish red, gray or reddish black. It forms tabular, rhombohedral or prismatic crystals that can grow together into twins. The aggregates of Cinnabarits are massive or grainy. The transparency of the red mineral ranges from opaque to completely transparent. Cinnabarit has a scarlet red color, a shell-like to splintery fracture and depending on the respective crystal surfaces of diamond-like to dull gloss. With a maximum Mohs hardness of 2.5, cinnabarite is one of the soft minerals.

Origin and occurrence:

Cinnabarite forms mainly hydrothermally in volcanic vents or at the edge of hot springs, but can also occur in sedimentary rocks and metamorphic rocks, with the ambient temperature below one hundred degrees Celsius. A socialization with pyrite, quartz, mercury, opal and antimonite is common.
Cinnabarit is being promoted in many countries around the world. The largest deposits are located near the town of Almadén in central Spain. There, the mineral was already mined in antiquity on a large scale. Other important deposits are located in many parts of Germany, in some regions of Italy, in the People's Republic of China, in North and South Africa, in Ukraine, as well as in Serbia, Russia and Japan.

Use by humans:

Cinnabarit is deliberately mined for millennia due to its high content of mercury, which is 87 percent. Mercury was used in antiquity mainly for the production of reflective surfaces. In recent centuries, cinnabar-derived mercury has been used to make thermometers, barometers, batteries, medicines, fillings and various disinfectants. Because of its toxicity, it has been increasingly pushed back for several years and loses importance in the industry.
Cinnabarite has also served as an important pigment in the past, serving painters as a bright red dye in the making of paintings. Not only some of the most important Renaissance works show the color called pewter red, which is characterized by an excellent opacity and luminosity. From the 18th century, cinnabarite was artificially manufactured as a pigment also industrially using sulfur and mercury, a process that was already used in medieval China. Therefore, Cinnabarit was also known in the German-speaking world as 'Chinese Red'.

Information

Cinnabarit


caractéristiques:

nom: Cinnabarit
Autres noms: Mercury Blend, Mercury Blend, Cinabre
classe minérale: Sulfures
Formule chimique: HgS
Éléments chimiques: Mercure, soufre
Minéraux similaires: Cuprit, Proustite, Soufre rubis
couleur: vermillon
brillant: Brillance diamant possible
structure cristalline: trigonal
densité de masse: 8,2
magnétisme: Diamagnétisme
dureté Mohs: 2,5
couleur de course: rouge
transparence: translucide à opaque
utilisation: industriel

Informations générales sur Cinnabarit:

la Cinnabarit ou cinabre décrit un minéral commun qui est compté parmi les sulfures et les sulfosels. Son nom dérive du mot latin "cinnabaris" ou du grec "kinnabari". Les deux termes se sont développés à partir du mot persan «zinifrah», qui signifie «sang de dragon». Le nom persan du minéral fait référence à sa couleur distinctive. Dans la région germanophone, les noms Bergzinnober, Merkurblende et Mercury Blende sont courants.
Le cinnabarit apparaît généralement dans un rouge intense, mais peut aussi être rouge brunâtre, gris ou noir rougeâtre. Il forme des cristaux tabulaires, rhomboédriques ou prismatiques qui peuvent se développer ensemble en jumeaux. Les agrégats de cinabre sont massifs ou granuleux. La transparence du minéral rouge varie de l'opaque au complètement transparent. Cinnabarit a une couleur rouge écarlate, une fracture semblable à une coquille à éclatée et en fonction des surfaces cristallines respectives de brillant semblable à du diamant à terne. Avec une dureté Mohs maximale de 2,5, la cinnabarite est l'un des minéraux mous.

Origine et occurrence:

La cinnabarite se forme principalement de manière hydrothermale dans les évents volcaniques ou au bord des sources chaudes, mais peut également se produire dans les roches sédimentaires et les roches métamorphiques, avec une température ambiante inférieure à cent degrés Celsius. Une socialisation avec la pyrite, le quartz, le mercure, l'opale et l'antimonite est courante.
Cinnabarit est promu dans de nombreux pays à travers le monde. Les plus grands gisements sont situés près de la ville d'Almadén, dans le centre de l'Espagne. Là, le minéral était déjà exploité à grande échelle dans l'antiquité. D'autres gisements importants se trouvent dans de nombreuses régions d'Allemagne, dans certaines régions d'Italie, en République populaire de Chine, en Afrique du Nord et du Sud, en Ukraine, ainsi qu'en Serbie, en Russie et au Japon.

Utilisation par l'homme:

Le cinabre est délibérément extrait pendant des millénaires en raison de sa teneur élevée en mercure, qui est de 87%. Le mercure était utilisé dans l'Antiquité principalement pour la production de surfaces réfléchissantes. Au cours des derniers siècles, le mercure dérivé du cinabre a été utilisé pour fabriquer des thermomètres, des baromètres, des piles, des médicaments, des plombages et divers désinfectants. En raison de sa toxicité, il est de plus en plus repoussé depuis plusieurs années et perd de son importance dans l'industrie.
La cinabarite a également été un pigment important dans le passé, servant aux peintres de colorant rouge vif dans la fabrication de peintures. Non seulement certaines des œuvres les plus importantes de la Renaissance montrent la couleur appelée rouge étain, qui se caractérise par une excellente opacité et luminosité. À partir du XVIIIe siècle, la cinnabarite a été fabriquée artificiellement comme pigment, également à l'aide industrielle de soufre et de mercure, un procédé qui était déjà utilisé dans la Chine médiévale. Par conséquent, Cinnabarit était également connu dans le monde germanophone sous le nom de «Chinese Red».

Vidéo: Cinnabarit (Février 2020).