General

Beaufort scale


What is the Beaufort scale?

The Beaufort scale is a thirteen-level scale for measuring wind force. Although the use of wind forces is common in the weather forecast, the Beaufort scale is almost never mentioned.
Although named after the British admiral and hydrograph Francis Beaufort (see picture), Beaufort has not developed the scale itself. John Smeaton and Alexander Dalyrymple had previously presented similar scales to the wind force.
Meanwhile, there are some extensions for the Beaufort scale. For Germany, these are practically not important, as wind speeds beyond 200 km / h in Central Europe are absolute exceptions. For example, the Fujita scale goes far beyond 500km / h and is therefore largely theoretical. The Saffir-Simpson hurricane scale is only used in America.
Originally developed for the sea and shipping, the criterion for the classification in a certain wind strength was not the wind speed, but the behavior of the waves at sea. In the meantime, conversion tables with different units (km / h, m / s and knots) allow the Beaufort wind force to be stated also on a quantitative level. Below is the Beaufort scale, with the usual unit for Europe (km / h) shown.

The Beaufort scale (table)

wind strengthkm / hdescription
00 - 1calm
11 - 5quiet train
26 - 11Light breeze
312 - 19gentle breeze
420 - 28moderate breeze
529 - 38Fresh breeze
639 - 49strong wind
750 - 61stiff wind
862 - 74stormy wind
975 - 88Storm
1089 - 102heavy storm
11103 - 117hurricane storm
12over 117hurricane

Général

échelle de Beaufort


Qu'est-ce que l'échelle de Beaufort?

la échelle de Beaufort est une échelle à treize niveaux pour mesurer la force du vent. Bien que l'utilisation des forces du vent soit courante dans les prévisions météorologiques, l'échelle de Beaufort n'est presque jamais mentionnée.
Bien qu'il porte le nom de l'amiral et hydrographe britannique Francis Beaufort (voir photo), Beaufort n'a pas développé l'échelle elle-même. John Smeaton et Alexander Dalyrymple avaient précédemment présenté des échelles similaires à la force du vent.
En attendant, il y a quelques extensions pour l'échelle de Beaufort. Pour l'Allemagne, celles-ci ne sont pratiquement pas importantes, car des vitesses de vent supérieures à 200 km / h en Europe centrale sont des exceptions absolues. Par exemple, l'échelle Fujita dépasse largement les 500 km / h et est donc largement théorique.L'échelle ouragan Saffir-Simpson n'est utilisée qu'en Amérique.
Développé à l'origine pour la mer et la navigation, le critère de classification dans une certaine force du vent n'était pas la vitesse du vent, mais le comportement des vagues en mer. Entre-temps, des tables de conversion avec différentes unités (km / h, m / s et nœuds) permettent d'affirmer la force du vent de Beaufort également à un niveau quantitatif. Ci-dessous est l'échelle de Beaufort, avec l'unité habituelle pour l'Europe (km / h) indiquée.

L'échelle de Beaufort (tableau)

force du ventkm / hdescription
00 - 1calme
11 - 5train tranquille
26 - 11brise légère
312 - 19brise légère
420 - 28brise modérée
529 - 38brise fraîche
639 - 49vent fort
750 - 61vent raide
862 - 74vent orageux
975 - 88tempête
1089 - 102forte tempête
11103 - 117tempête d'ouragan
12plus de 117ouragan