Information

Vacuole


What is a vacuole? Definition:

vacuoles are extensible cell organelles, which occur mainly in plant and fungal cells and act as a storage medium for water (and nutrients dissolved therein). The term derives from the Latin "vacuus" (vacuum or empty space). Under the microscope, the vacuoles filled with water are usually very visible because of their relatively large size. In plant cells, vacuoles generally occupy more than 3/4 of the cell interior.
Vacuoles arise during cell growth; more specifically in the course of extension growth. The extension growth serves to increase the size of the plant. In contrast to the division growth, the extension growth is much more energy efficient.
Variants of the vacuole Vacuoles also occur in the form of contractile vacuoles in the known paramecia. Contractile vacuoles are contracting blisters that serve to remove water from the cell. For this, the contractile vacuoles increase and decrease rhythmically, taking up cellulosic fluid from within and releasing it to the outside of the cell. The influx of water is due to the higher osmotic pressure within the cell and is due to this. Within the cell, the salt concentration is thus higher than in the surrounding freshwater. Without the presence of contractile vacuoles, the osmotic pressure within the cell would be too high and the cell would burst.

Structure of the vacuole

Vacuoles have a similar structure to vesicles. Both organelles are only surrounded by a membrane. While vacuoles are always equipped with a single membrane called tonoplast, vesicles can also have a double membrane. The tonoplast can absorb water on demand through its semipermeable membrane and release it again for transpiration or for photosynthesis. As soon as the expandable vacuole becomes saturated with water, its circumference increases many times and is limited only by the cell wall. Vacuoles are therefore so large that they can be easily recognized under a microscope.

Function of the vacuole

The most important function is fulfilled by the vacuole by generating the so-called Turgordrucks. As the vacuole increases its volume in the cell, the pressure inside the cell also increases. Because particles always strive for a balance of the substance concentration (see osmosis and diffusion), water flows from the outside into the cell.
Vacuoles perform a variety of tasks. For example, they can serve as a substance store for proteins, such as legumes in the cotyledons, but also absorb organic compounds. They serve as temporary storage of toxic waste products from the metabolism of the plant. In the vacuoles, the toxins can be reliably isolated from the rest of the cell. Toxic plants store their toxins in the vacuoles. In this way, a plant can protect itself against predators without poisoning itself by the poison itself.

Information

Vacuole


Qu'est-ce qu'une vacuole? Définition:

vacuoles sont des organites cellulaires extensibles, qui se produisent principalement dans les cellules végétales et fongiques et agissent comme un milieu de stockage pour l'eau (et les nutriments qui y sont dissous). Le terme dérive du latin "vacuus" (vide ou espace vide). Au microscope, les vacuoles remplies d'eau sont généralement très visibles en raison de leur taille relativement grande. Dans les cellules végétales, les vacuoles occupent généralement plus des 3/4 de l'intérieur des cellules.
Les vacuoles surviennent pendant la croissance cellulaire; plus précisément au cours de la croissance de l'extension. La croissance d'extension sert à augmenter la taille de la plante. Contrairement à la croissance de la division, la croissance de l'extension est beaucoup plus économe en énergie.
Des variantes des vacuoles Les vacuoles se présentent également sous la forme de vacuoles contractiles dans les paramécies connues. Les vacuoles contractiles contractent des cloques qui servent à éliminer l'eau de la cellule. Pour cela, les vacuoles contractiles augmentent et diminuent rythmiquement, absorbant le liquide cellulosique de l'intérieur et le libérant à l'extérieur de la cellule. L'afflux d'eau est dû à la pression osmotique plus élevée dans la cellule et est due à cela. Au sein de la cellule, la concentration en sel est ainsi plus élevée que dans l'eau douce environnante. Sans la présence de vacuoles contractiles, la pression osmotique à l'intérieur de la cellule serait trop élevée et la cellule éclaterait.

Structure de la vacuole

Les vacuoles ont une structure similaire aux vésicules. Les deux organites ne sont entourés que d'une membrane. Alors que les vacuoles sont toujours équipées d'une seule membrane appelée tonoplaste, les vésicules peuvent également avoir une double membrane. Le tonoplaste peut absorber l'eau à la demande à travers sa membrane semi-perméable et la libérer à nouveau pour la transpiration ou pour la photosynthèse. Dès que la vacuole expansible devient saturée d'eau, sa circonférence augmente plusieurs fois et n'est limitée que par la paroi cellulaire. Les vacuoles sont donc si grandes qu'elles peuvent être facilement reconnues au microscope.

Fonction de la vacuole

La fonction la plus importante est remplie par la vacuole en générant les soi-disant Turgordrucks. À mesure que la vacuole augmente son volume dans la cellule, la pression à l'intérieur de la cellule augmente également. Parce que les particules recherchent toujours un équilibre de la concentration de la substance (voir osmose et diffusion), l'eau s'écoule de l'extérieur vers la cellule.
Les vacuoles accomplissent diverses tâches. Par exemple, ils peuvent servir de réserve de substances pour les protéines, telles que les légumineuses dans les cotylédons, mais aussi absorber les composés organiques. Ils servent de stockage temporaire des déchets toxiques du métabolisme de la plante. Dans les vacuoles, les toxines peuvent être isolées de manière fiable du reste de la cellule. Les plantes toxiques stockent leurs toxines dans les vacuoles. De cette façon, une plante peut se protéger contre les prédateurs sans s'empoisonner par le poison lui-même.